Greg Hancock

We have sponsored Greg Hancock in Speedway several years now. 

Gregory Alan "Herbie" Hancock (born June 3, 1970 in Whittier, California, USA is an American motorcycle speedway rider. He is a former Speedway World Champion and a multiple World Team Champion with USA, with whom he is currently captain (2010). As of 2009, Hancock is the only rider to have appeared in every Grand Prix round since its creation in 1995.

Greg began riding speedway as a junior at the age of 7. In 1985, he won the Junior US Nationals. Greg first came to the United Kingdom at the end of the 1988 speedway season to ride exhibition races. Greg agreed a deal to ride for Cradley Heath the following year – the same team that his mentor Bruce Penhall used to ride for. Greg became a success for Cradley in the British League. He also won gold medals for the USA in the 1992 World Pairs and World Team Cup. However due to injury Greg was not able to contest in the Individual World Championship until 1993. That year he went through to the World Final in Pocking, Germany where he finished last place. In 1994, Greg again qualified for the last ever 'one off' World Final. He went into his last race needing a victory to become world champion but he finished third in the race and fourth overall on the night.


1995 Greg finished in 4th place in the first year of the Grand Prix (GP). He won the final round, the British GP at the Hackney Stadium.
1996 moved one place up the rankings to finish with the bronze medal in third place.
1997 Greg won the first GP of the year in Prague and continued that success through out the season to win the World Title. He also won the Premier League Riders Championship riding for the Coventry Bees.
1998 The Grand Prix format changed to an elimination system. Greg did not fair so well and finished the year in sixth place but won the World Team Cup with Billy Hamill and Sam Ermolenko.
1999 Greg finish in 11th place in the Grand Prix.
2000 Greg win his first Grand Prix since 1997 and he finished in fifth place.
2001 finished in 13th place but went on to win the Grand Prix Challenge to retain his spot in the series.
2002 Greg won the last Grand Prix round in Sydney, Australia and finished 6th overall.
2003 He went one better in 2003 finishing in 5th place after again winning the final round, this time in Hamar, Norway.
2004 Greg was back amongst the medals, finishing the season in third place. This year, he won the British GP at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff.
2005 slipped back to fifth in the world unable to win a GP.
2006 Greg finished the Grand Prix series in second place in 2006 and was unbeaten in this year’s World Cup but the american team did not qualify for the final as the rest of the team struggled.
2007 Greg finished in sixth place. Although he failed to win a GP, he finished in second place on three occasions.
2008 Greg finished fourth overall in the Grand Prix series. He was on the podium four times, winning the Polish Grand Prix in Bydgoszcz.
2009 Greg finished the Speedway Grand Prix season in fourth position and achieved two podium places as runner up at the Danish Grand Prix and winner of the Latvian Grand Prix. He became the USA Speedway National Champion for the eighth time this year, besting the record set by the legendary Mike Bast and was subsequently named as the Racing Athlete of the Year by the American Motorcyclist Association (AMA). This was the first time that this award had ever been given to a speedway rider.
2010 Greg starts the year with a new club in Sweden, Piraterna, and Poland, Zielona Gora. During the season, Greg lives in Sweden with his wife Jennie, 2 sons Wilbur and Bill, and his dog Leo.


Career history
World Champion 1997
American Champion 1995, 1998, 2000, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006 & 2009
British GP Champion 1995 & 2004
Czech GP Champion 1997
Polish GP Champion 1997 & 2008
Danish GP Champion 2000
Australian GP Champion 2002
Norwegian GP Champion 2003
Latvian GP Champion 2006 & 2009
Elite League Riders Champion 1997
Team honors
World Pairs Champion 1992
World Team Cup Winner 1992, 1993 & 1998
Swedish Elite Serie 1996, 1997, 2001 & 2002
British League KO Cup Winner 1989